Bitdefender Safego is a free tool designed to scan social network users' accounts and detect spam, scams and other e-threats, while also keeping users aware of personal information exposure. Initially launched for Facebook users, Bitdefender Safego is now ready to protect Twitter accounts as well. Bitdefender Safego uses the Bitdefender antimalware and antiphishing engines to scan URLs in the cloud.
Bitdefender Safego keeps your Twitter account safe by:
- checking unknown users before you follow them
- checking the accounts you are following
- scanning your direct messages for spam, suspicious links or highjacking attempts.
Bitdefender Safego uses the following color code to rank the severity of a threat:
Red: Highly suspicious accounts. Accounts usually get a red flag after they are detected as spreading malware, spam or as being used for phishing.
Yellow: Moderate threat. While they are not necessarily spam bots, accounts flagged with this color attract followers using mechanisms that may be considered spammy or annoying by certain users.
Grey: Low threat. Grey flags indicate that no message has been sent from the respective account for the past 30 days. If the account holder is unknown to you, this may raise doubts as to the legitimacy of the account's purpose.
Green: No threat. Green flags single out safe accounts.
No, Safego does not delete tweets/unfollow accounts in your name. An Unfollow button is available on the app dashboard under each suspicious (flagged) user.
Safego permanently scans your account in the background. When a threat is detected, it is important for you to be notified (by means of a direct message) so that you can take the necessary steps. This setting is enabled by default.
Follow us on Twitter - unless this setting is enabled, Safego will not be able to send you direct messages warning you about suspicious activities in your account.
Publish Weekly Summary - enabling this option will allow Safego to automatically post weekly security statistics about the activity in your account.
This option is not enabled by default. Safego will scan your private messages for spam, phishing and malware only if you enable this option.
To send us your feedback or reports on bugs, please use our support address firstname.lastname@example.org
The first option, enabled by default, allows Safego to notify you about threats. These warnings (direct messages) will only be visible to you. If you also enable "Automatically Warn My friends," a direct message will be sent from your account to those persons on your Follow list in whose accounts Safego has detected some issues. This will enable your contacts to find out about and to fix possible security issues.